The Jeju Chocolate Deals

Nov 7th, 2013

It was around 12.30 PM when I finally said goodbye to the peak. I stopped by at the rest room and then looked around the souvenirs shops around the area. I finally decided to buy chocolates with Jeju Oranges filling for my friends back at home. Jeju Oranges was one of the delicacies in Korean. Back in the old days, only King or high ranking officials could have a taste of them.

I bought the chocolate with the price of KRW 10k per box. I bought 4 boxes and got a box of blueberry chocolate for free. Each box had 30 pieces of chocolate.

Then, I went to another souvenir store. In that store, you could get 4 boxes of chocolate @ 15 pieces with the price of KRW 10k. Hem….I felt….darn….hahahaha…..anyway….it was for souvenirs.

Then, I went looking for abalone porridge (Jeonbokjuk – 전복죽). People said that the yummiest one was sold at Sehwa-ri, the one that was eaten by the female divers in that village.  But I was hungry and it took time to go back to Sehwa-ri. So I walked around and finally found a restaurant. The restaurant looked famous because it displayed the name of one of the national TV stations and lots of famous peoples’ signatures on its premise.20131107_133116I went inside and ordered the porridge. It was KRW 15k, more than my meal budget but hey….when you’re on holiday, it’s time to relax and enjoy it. 20131107_125715The porridge portion was big. I made a conclusion that when you’re eating in a restaurant in Korea, it’s expected that you’re eating out with other people. They don’t design a meal to be eaten alone.

The taste was fabulous.

I took time to finished it and looked around the restaurant. Next to my table, there was a grandpa, also eating alone. He had a portion of seafood soup that looked so red and spicy but he ate it with gusto making it looked yummy. Another table across from mine, there was a family of 5 or 6 adults. They ordered lots of food such as grilled fish, the porridge, seafood pancake (Haemul Pajeon) and soju. Whoa…what a feast!

After I succeed in finishing the porridge, I took a walk around the area to get a full shot of the peak. It wasn’t the ideal time to take the shot but I only had 1 day to spend there. So, here’s the best one:IMG_7985After that, I wanted to take a walk on Olle route 2. There were signs along the beach but the path suddenly disappeared and it was led to a wide road. I decided to go back to the bus stop near the harbor where I got off this morning.

There were interesting sights on the way back to the harbor. Birds that reminded me of the cheeky thieves in Australia. Horses and a group of old men watching them.IMG_7986 IMG_7987 IMG_7988 IMG_7989 IMG_7990 IMG_7992 IMG_7993 IMG_7994 IMG_7995 IMG_7996 IMG_7997 IMG_7998At a bus stop near the Seongsan Ilchulbong, I saw a girl asking several grandmothers there in English while none of them understood her. I asked her, what did she want to know. She asked me how to get back to Jungmun resort. As I remembered, the place was on the other side of the island. So I told her that she could take a bus to Seogwipo-si and then from there, she should asked around on how to get the the resort.

Then she asked me from which bus station that she should take the bus and I told her to cross the street. I completely forgot that the vehicles here ran on the other side of the road from the ones in my country. At the bus stop across the street, she asked another people and they told her to cross the street again. As she was crossing the street, the bus to Seogwipo-ri arrived and she got on that bus. Phew. I wished she arrived at the resort safely.

I was amazed to see a solo female traveler like her. One that could go to a country without having enough information and had the courage to ask around when she couldn’t speak the local language.

Then, I went to cross the street and waiting for the bus to Jeju city. Unlike the bus stop across the street that had a roof and glass walls, this one, there was only a sign post saying bus stop. The sun was shining happily that afternoon while I was dying to rest my feet from the long walk I had that day. And the bus didn’t came sooner. I waited there for almost 1 hour. T_T

At first, I wanted to stop by at the Sehwa-ri museum but it was already 3 PM. So, when the bus finally came, I decided to go back to the hostel. I paid the fee, KRW 3,000 to the bus driver and sat down and fell asleep almost right away.

At 4.20 PM, the bus arrived at the Jeju Intercity terminal. I went back to the hostel and rest.

Btw, when I was resting and writing, I noticed that the hostel sold the chocolate too. With the price KRW 10k for 4 boxes. Kekekekeke…..what a deal for the Jeju Chocolates!

 

Leave a Reply

